top of page

Why Don't You Have A Job Yet?

If you are looking for employment in today's economy, this might be a statement you hear a lot from friends and family who have managed to avoid that lovely little lay off slip. Little do they know that you are applying to every job posting you see. You're simply not getting call backs. Or if you are, it is for a job you really do not want, or are over qualified for.

I remember a time in my own life where I was in the same situation, unemployed. I got by racking up debt with family and friends. The job search was HARD. I could not find the job I wanted.

Eventually I did find a job. It was not my dream job. It definitely was not high paying. I accepted what I call a RIGHT NOW JOB. I had no choice, bills were piling up and I could not sit at home any longer. I accepted a right now job, but I continued to search for employment where I was more compatible and where my skill sets would be utilized. I was once given great advice, and now I always pass it on to my clients.

"It is easier to get hired if you already have a job. It immediately shows that your are employable and valuable enough to keep on payroll."

If you are having a difficult time securing employment, even a RIGHT NOW JOB. I suggest you do the following.

1. Have a professional look at your resume.

If you are constantly applying to jobs and not getting call backs you need to check your resume or redo it completely. If this still does not help your search, hire a professional for a fresh set of eyes or a complete re-write.

2. Your day job should be applying for jobs.

If you are currently unemployed, you already have a job. Finding a job! Get up every day and do your daily routine like you normally would if you had a real job! Shower, eat breakfast, check your social media. But then, get your butt in gear and apply yourself. Get online and search for jobs in your market. Go directly to employers (Yes, I am telling you to go outside and actually talk to people)and market yourself in person.

3. Accept the RIGHT NOW JOB!

Just continue to job search for the job you actually want. Do not get stuck in a rut in your RIGHT NOW JOB. Being stressed out over not working and having it turn into depression is a whole other battle. Stay busy.

Now I want to know, what do YOU think is the hardest part about job searching? Send me an email! employmentgirl@gmail.com

bottom of page